Skip to content

Big News…

February 21, 2015

The Chief and Makali squatted on the ground and began a very colorful discussion. At best, I was understanding about every third word. I did hear the word simba, or lion, about four times. The Chief was also pointing toward the cattle enclosure and toward one of his morans, or warriors. I could tell Makali was getting directions and also asking about tembo, or elephant. I also saw him smile as something was mentioned about the grevy’s zebra. After about 5 minutes, they stood and shook hands. Makali gave a bow to the Chief, and came over to explain the news to us.

I gave a nod to the Chief and offered, “Asante, Hakimu”.

“Big news, Bwana Charles”, Makali said to me and Bryce, who was next to me. “Ele were spotted this morning not far from here in dry river bed. Just like you thought Bwana.”

“Well, just like last hunt, Makali,” I answered.

“Oh, but more big news, Bwana. Last night, two simba jump fence and kill 2 cattle. Chief asked if we could follow tracks and save village. We would be shujaa (heroes). One of his sons chase simba away and saw which way they run. Chief is afraid simba come back. Son can go with us to show trail,” Makali said.

“Oh man, Bryce. What do you think?” I asked.

“We should probably ask our guests, but I’m feeling that we need to protect the village if we can,” Bryce said.

“I agree,” I said.

 

One Comment leave one →
  1. Marsha Duemke permalink
    February 21, 2015 1:53 pm

    Woo hoo! Back to the hunt!

Leave a Reply

Juju Films

Cutting edge Multimedia Programming

MOVIESLAP.COM

movies,films,free movies,external movie links,great movies,free films,the best movies online!

Daily (w)rite

A DAILY RITUAL OF WRITING

literaryboners

Because fictional characters are bien sexxi.

Eli Glasman

Site of author Eli Glasman

Indie Hero

Brian Marggraf, Author of Dream Brother: A Novel, Independent publishing advocate, New York City dweller

My Own Little Playground

Things I love, Things I loathe, A little of this and A little of that.

Clarissa Has a Blog

sometimes, I explain it all.

LEANNE COLE Fine Art Photographer

Daring to be Different

dlightblog

non potete fare affidamento sui vostri occhi se la vostra immaginazione è fuori fuoco (mark twain)

thedailyreflections

It's 2013, why does food still have calories?

Kat de Naoum

I'm a writer so I'm supposed to have a blog, right?

Bucket List Publications

Indulge- Travel, Adventure, & New Experiences

danieljamesmoore

Life in Wherever I am at the Moment

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

