“Watch out!” is all I have time to scream.

(There is a deafening explosion from near overhead. I am knocked off my feet and thrown against the wall close to the driver compartment.)

Benga falls out of his seat and yells in pain. I see Jacob slam into the refrigerator. His impact shakes open the cabinet and a whole stack of plates hit the floor. The interior lights flash off momentarily, then back on. The explosion is followed by a blinding flash of light. The air is filled with sparks and flying debris. Through the front window, I see a large acacia tree engulfed in flames and falling toward the camper. 

“Watch out!” is all I have time to scream.

One Comment

Leave a Reply

