The six of us stand over the make-shift grave.

(“Me and Benga do it, Bwana. We get simba, then do it,” Makali says.) 

Makali and Benga load the lioness into the back of the pickup truck. Miles, Robert, and I start digging a shallow grave as Benjamin stands guard. After gathering the remains, Makali and Benga ask to take over the digging. The six of us stand over the make-shift grave. I say a few words as both Susan and Robert Thomas cry.

 “Robert, Susan, here is my cell number,” handing them my business card. “Call us if anything happens. You know where our camp is. Go inside and stay safe.”

Shaking their hands, I turn to Miles, “What did Dr. Longo say?”

“He said, that was fast! He’ll be here in about 2 hours.”

“Great, meet ya’ at my Rover.”

“Roger that, Mate” 

I get in the driver seat of the pickup and drive away. Miles pulls out right behind me.

One Comment

Leave a Reply

