“We are the ‘Band of Brothers’ who volunteered to capture these three man-eaters.”

(“Ok, he’s close enough,” releasing her arm. “Go get him Susie!”) 

“Well,” looking at my partners, “We got one of them, and the other two are watching us – maybe stalking in on us. Let’s hurry. Miles, call Dr. Longo and get him headed this way. Makali and Benga, prepare to load the simba in this pickup truck. I’ll ask if we can borrow it.  Watch the bushes.”

 Robert Thomas and wife Susan are walking towards us from his tractor. “Hello, Dr. Henley. I am the very alive and thankful, Robert Thomas,” reaching to shake my hand.

“So very nice to meet you. I am sorry for Jim Stevens, but I am very happy to meet a live Robert Thomas,” releasing his handshake and smiling. “I’m afraid we had your wife very frightened.” Turning to my team, “This is my associate, Miles Petersen. These are the two best trackers in Kenya, Makali and Benga. And this is Benjamin Niemba. He represents the Kenyan Wildlife Ministry. We are the ‘Band of Brothers’ who volunteered to capture these three man-eaters.”

“And I understand you have one of them?” Robert asks.

“Yes, though this isn’t how we were planning this safari would unfold, we have one of the females,” I answered.

One Comment

Leave a Reply

