“A second deep breath, and a second slow exhale…. I need to unwind.”

I walk over to the balcony railing that faces the waterhole. Placing both hands on the railing, I close my eyes and take a deep breath … then exhale slowly. A second deep breath, and a second slow exhale. I need to unwind. I need to clear my mind. I’m so glad I got the call to Linda Bridges done. How very horrible. Keeping my eyes closed, I let my senses take over. The sun is now setting below the trees and the temperature has dropped about 10 degrees. My endeared vantage point is now engulfed in shadows. I feel the cool wind on my face and I hear the leaves rustling in the large flat top acacia tree next to the balcony. Listening “deeper”, I clearly hear the familiar song of the warblers and the distant sound of a flock of Egyptian geese, probably down by the waterhole. With the coming of darkness, the soothing sounds of crickets and tree frogs is beginning to fill the air.

One Comment

Leave a Reply

