“I take a shot glass and a half empty bottle of Jack Daniels from the cabinet near the sink. Two quick shots.”

(“Bye for now, Linda. Give your girls a hug for me.”) 

I hang-up my phone, set it on the table next to the coach, and just stare out the window at what is becoming a beautiful sunset. I start to cry.

The radio squawks again and brings me back to my senses. 

“Charles, Charles?” It is Miles’ voice.

I jump up and run to the table and pick up the radio. “Yes Miles?”

“All ok. Found Makali and headin’ back, Mate.”

“Great. Talked to Mrs. Bridges, and about to reserve our ‘tent on wheels’ for our safari.”

“Ok, see ya’ in a few,” Miles answered.

“Roger that.” 

Walking to the kitchen, I take a shot glass and a half empty bottle of Jack Daniels from the cabinet near the sink. Two quick shots.

2 Comments

Leave a Reply

