Makali steps outside and is instantly locked-in to the smell of cape buffalo.

“We have a clear view of the waterhole. I think the hippo family is waiting for you. There is something in the water near the opposite side.”

“Yes, Bwana, and me smell the buff.” 

I smiled at my “tracker”. One reason was that he is just so amazing and cool. He is always so focused and aware. I was also smiling because he had just gotten me. I was about to make a comment regarding what I was smelling, but it wasn’t going to be nearly as “safari-ish” as his comment. The only smell I was recognizing was the lilac and other floral odors that were filling the air. I was thinking about how nice the air smelled following the rain from last night. Makali steps outside and is instantly locked-in to the smell of cape buffalo. It just pleases me that his talents continue to surprise me.

One Comment

Leave a Reply

