This time I tied the holster to my right leg. It makes me feel like a gun fighter, and I like that.

I headed back to my tent for my usual satchel of supplies and my rifle. For elephant I’ll need my Winchester 455, but I’ll have Benga carry it for me. I will carry my open site 375. I also strapping on my Taurus Judge. It is my favorite handgun. It can fire Colt 45 cartridges or 410 gauge shotgun shells. The 410 shells have come in handy several times with some dangerous snakes in the area. This time, I load the pistol with the 45 cartridges, in case of anything close range. I loaded my holster with both caliber shells, because you never know. This time I tied the holster to my right leg. It makes me feel like a gun fighter, and I like that. I also checked to make sure I had my supply of Dunhill cigarettes. Today’s hunt will require constant awareness of wind direction.

After a quick stop by the latrine, I headed to the dining tent. By now it is about 8:00am. and it is a bright sunny morning about 60 degrees F. Bryce, Miles, and Makali are already in the tent waiting for me and our three guests.

 “Makali, the wind is still in our face. You agree that we are still good?” I asked.

“Yes, Bwana. Wind little stronger now, but still in our face and ok,” Makali answered.

One Comment

Leave a Reply

