Skip to content

Simply close my eyes and listen

February 9, 2011

I love to just sit and watch the morning arrive.  Temperatures in this area of Kenya in June range from 11 to 18 degrees Celsius, or 50 to 70 degrees fahrenheit, depending upon elevation.  This morning it was cool, probably about 16 degrees.  June is generally the fourth driest month of the year, so the rain we had just experienced the day before was very welcomed.  As I sat in my chair, facing the sunrise, the breeze in my face was filled with the fragrant odor of  heather.  Of course, mixed in with that wonderful smell was the more than occasional hint of the five camels we brought into camp. 
In my line of work, I feel it is very important to have highly trained senses.  One of my favorite exercises is to simply close my eyes and listen.  For a few magical moments I try to become “One” with nature.  It’s like touching heaven. 

I was startled back to reality when I heard Malkali approaching.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Marsha Duemke permalink
    February 9, 2011 11:49 am

    Love it more each day!

Leave a Reply

Juju Films

Cutting edge Multimedia Programming

MOVIESLAP.COM

movies,films,free movies,external movie links,great movies,free films,the best movies online!

Daily (w)rite

A DAILY RITUAL OF WRITING

literaryboners

Because fictional characters are bien sexxi.

Eli Glasman

Site of author Eli Glasman

Indie Hero

Brian Marggraf, Author of Dream Brother: A Novel, Independent publishing advocate, New York City dweller

My Own Little Playground

Things I love, Things I loathe, A little of this and A little of that.

Clarissa Has a Blog

sometimes, I explain it all.

LEANNE COLE

Fine Art Photographer ~ Daring to be Different

dlightblog

non potete fare affidamento sui vostri occhi se la vostra immaginazione è fuori fuoco (mark twain)

thedailyreflections

It's 2013, why does food still have calories?

Kat de Naoum

I'm a writer so I'm supposed to have a blog, right?

Bucket List Publications

Indulge- Travel, Adventure, & New Experiences

danieljamesmoore

Life in Wherever I am at the Moment

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

